基础

VCX 媒体致力于创建和传播标准,客观地评估相机和移动设备(如智能手机,平板电脑,笔记本电脑等)的 图像质量。目标是为消费者提供独立和可靠的信息。

VCX 论坛寻求最客观的评估并且成为消费者与公司之间的理想调解者。

Purpose

VCX 论坛寻求最客观的评估并且成为消费者与公司之间的理想调解者。

VCX 分数旨在实现相机精度和性能的比较。高分代表了相机出色的性能。 因此VCX 评分不仅仅是一个简单的比较系统,还可以作为标准来帮助指导行业开发更好的相机。

VCX 是一个非营利组织

它的使命是创建和传播一种标准,用于客观评估智能手机,平板电脑,计算机,笔记本电脑等移动设备中相机 的图像质量。主要目标是向消费者提供独立可靠的信息。

VCX 论坛旨在寻求最客观的评估并且成为消费者与公司之间的理想调解者。重要的是要指出VCX 分数是参考 评估,不同于为需要相应信息的客户提供客观和准确信息的广告。我们的目标是汇集全球的智能手机相机制造 商,相机组件生产商,芯片组/ ISP 供应商,图像质量实验室,学术界的研究人员以及手机行业的其他利益相关者。VCX 会员资格会对任何希 望进一步实现VCX 目标的组织开放。

该协会是一个非营利组织;它并不主要追求自己的经济目的。成员不得获得任何利润份额,并且作为成员,也 不会从协会的资金中获得任何其他利益。任何人不得通过超出协会目的的分配或通过不成比例的高薪获益。

原理

公司有意愿和动力将VCX 分数带给更多的观众。下面的列表包括向主要行业参与者开放VCX 的各个方面。 VCX 基于5 个原则,保证可以映射到现实生活体验的结果:

Tenets

1.VCX 测量应确保开箱即用的体验

2.VCX 应保持100%的目标

3.VCX 应开放透明

4.VCX 应使用独立的成像实验室进行测试

5.VCX 应寻求持续改进

1.Tenet

VCX 测量应确保开箱即用的体验

该原则规定,理想情况下,待测器件应从无偏/无污染源获得,即来被测器件来自销售商店的随机样品。 这确 保既不接受来自供应商的特殊样品也不接受定制硬件/软件。结果从推向市场的设备获得。使用默认的相机应 用程序和设置(闪存测试用例除外)测试设备。

2.Tenet

VCX 应保持100%的目标

关于如何根据测量结果创建得分的完整过程基于对被测设备的客观分析,然后对数值结果进行固定且无偏的处 理。 创建VCX 分数时不涉及人工交互或主观评分。

3.Tenet

VCX 应保持开放和透明

任何人都可以访问VCX 分数,而不仅限于设备供应商或移动运营商。VCX 评分旨在反映智能手机摄像头的用 户体验,使最终用户更容易决定使用新设备。 VCX 评分发布在www.vcx-forum.org 网站上。本白皮书详细介 绍了整个测试和测量程序,该程序可供成像界广泛批评和审查。发布高级加权标准以及最终VCX 得分(性能/ 响应和各种照明条件下的图像质量)的高级组件的详细信息。

4.Tenet

VCX 应使用独立的成像实验室进行测试

VCX 作为质量改进流程已被移动成像行业的各种实体采用,但最终结果来自独立的可信实验室。欢迎其他独 立成像实验室加入VCX 流程,尽管www.vcx-forum.org 网站上的最终结果仅限于受信任实验室测量,以确保 获得最高质量的结果。但是可以包含其他积极为VCX 做出贡献的流程和程序的实体。

5.Tenet

VCX 应寻求持续改进

VCX 经过多年的发展,并与沃达丰和图像工程公司密切合作。沃达丰客户的持续投入已被考虑用于改进。来 自移动设备和芯片组行业的几家供应商对其改进做出了积极贡献,客户和供应商的这一反馈循环将继续下去。

历史

在20 世纪90 年代初,ISO 技术委员会42(摄影)开始制定关于如何测量数码相机的图像质量和性能的标 准。1997 年,作为ISO 委员会成员和VCX 今天成员之一的Image Engineering 开始测试数码相机。那时它是 全球第一个数码相机独立测试实验室。包括图像工程在内的ISO TC 成员在过去二十年中改进并扩展了客观测 试和测量程序以测试摄像机。

制造商开始优化他们的相机以获得良好的图像质量,因此来自市场上出现的各种测试机构的良好测试结果。 在21 世纪初,当相机模块进入智能手机时,沃达丰有兴趣推广具有良好相机的手机,并与Image Engineering 合作,为其关键性能指标(KPI)开发和建立质量价值。

2013 年,测试进行了全面的现代化改造。基于最新技术添加了新的质量参数,并且在不同的照明条件下和 各种用例下进行了测试。那时Image Engineering 进行了测量并将结果提供给沃达丰。沃达丰采用了这些结 果,并在一年的时间内将其转换为评分系统,以便管理,销售和客户能够理解设备之间的质量差异。沃达丰相 机体验(VCX)诞生了。

由于资源有限,图像工程在2016 年与分数生成程序联合,并增加了一系列补充和说明。与此同时,这个想 法的诞生是为了让更多的观众可以使用VCX,并在2017 年春季的第一次会议之后成为非盈利组织VCXForum e.V.成立于。仍然使用缩写VCX,但它背后的名称更改为有价值的相机体验 -

Valued Camera eXperience – VCX

今天,该组织是成员驱动的,沃达丰和图像工程公司是其他十几家公司的成员,其中包括几乎所有大型智能 手机制造商,芯片组供应商,模块制造商和实验室。所有成员都致力于创建质量和性能指标,以便将他们的手 机摄像头与其他摄像头进行比较,并为客户提供相机选择的指导。这样,智能手机相机的图像质量具有可比 性,并将在未来得到改善。

Foundation

The Association serves the creation and dissemination of a standard for objectively assessing the image quality of cameras and mobile devices such as smart-phones, tablet computers, notebooks, etc. The objective is to provide independent and credible information for consumers.

The VCX-Forum seeks the most objective assessment and the ideal mediator between consumers and companies.

Purpose

VCX scoring system was born out of the need to create a transparent and objective image quality assessment system from the perspective of the consumer.

The VCX score aims to enable the comparison of camera accuracy and performance. A high score indicates an excellent camera performance for consumers. That way the VCX score is not just a simple comparison system but will also serve as a standard to help guide the industry to develop better cameras.

The Association is a non-profit organization

The mission of the association is the creation and dissemination of a standard for objectively assessing the image quality of cameras in mobile devices such as smart-phones, tablets, computers, notebooks, etc. The main objective is to provide independent and credible information to consumers and industry likewise.

The VCX-Forum seeks to be the most objective assessment and the ideal mediator between consumers and companies. It is important to point out that the VCX score is a reference evaluation, different from advertisements by providing objective and accurate information to customers who are likely to otherwise depend on advertisements for information. We aim to bring together the world’s smart-phone camera manufacturers, camera component producers, chipset/ISP vendors, image quality labs, researchers from academia and other stakeholders from the mobile phone industry. VCX-membership is open to any organization that wishes to further the goals of VCX.

The Association is a non-profit organization; it does not primarily pursue its own economic ends. The members shall not receive any profit shares, and in their capacity as members, will also not be granted any other benefits from the funds of the Association. No person may be benefited by distributions that are outside of the Association's purposes, or by way of disproportionately high remuneration.

Principle

The initiating companies have the intention and motivation to bring the VCX Score to a larger audience. The list below includes opening up aspects of VCX to key industry players. VCX is based on 5 tenets which guarantee results that can be mapped to real life experience:

Tenets

1.VCX measurements shall ensure the out-of-the-box experience

2.VCX shall remain 100% objective

3.VCX shall be open and transparent

4.VCX shall employ/use an independent imaging lab for testing

5.VCX shall seek continuous improvement

1.Tenet

VCX measurements shall ensure the out-of-the-box experience

This tenet dictates that the device under test shall ideally be obtained from an unbiased/untainted source i.e., a random sample/s from a store that sells the device under test. This ensures that neither special samples from suppliers nor custom hardware/software are accepted. The results are obtained from a device/devices that are launched onto the market. The device is tested using the default camera application and setting (except for flash test cases).

2.Tenet

VCX shall remain 100% objective

TThe complete process on how the score is created from measurements is based on objective analysis of the device under test, followed by a fixed and unbiased processing of the numerical results. No human interaction or subjective scoring is involved when creating the VCX score.

3.Tenet

VCX shall remain open and transparent

The VCX score can be accessed by anyone and not restricted to device vendors or mobile operators. The VCX score is designed to reflect the user experience with a smart-phone camera to make it much easier for end-users to decide on a new device. The VCX score is published on the website www.vcx-forum.org. This white paper details the entire testing and measurement procedure, which is open to critique and scrutiny by the imaging community at large. High-level weighting criteria are published along with the details of high-level components of what makes the final VCX score (performance/response and image quality in various lighting conditions).

4.Tenet

VCX shall employ/use an independent imaging lab for testing

VCX as a quality improvement process has been adopted by various entities in the mobile imaging industry, but the final results are obtained from an independent trusted lab. Other independent imaging labs are welcome to join the VCX process, although the final results on the www.vcx-forum.org website, are restricted to be measured by trusted labs to ensure the highest quality results. Processes and procedures for inclusion of other entities to actively contribute to VCX are underway.

5.Tenet

VCX shall seek continuous improvement

VCX has been developed over several years with close cooperation between Vodafone and Image Engineering. Continuous input from Vodafone customers has been taken into account for improvement. Several vendors from the mobile device and chipset industry have contributed positively to its improvement and this cycle of feedback from customers and vendors shall continue.

History

At the beginning of the 1990s, the ISO technical committee 42 (photography) started to develop standards on how to measure image quality and performance of digital cameras. In 1997 Image Engineering who is a member of the ISO committee and one of today’s members of VCX started to test digital cameras. At that time it was the first independent test lab for digital cameras worldwide. ISO TC members including Image Engineering improved and expanded the objective test and measurement procedures to test cameras over the past two decades.

Manufacturers started to optimize their cameras to get a good image quality and therefore good test results from the various testing institutions that appeared on the market. When camera modules found their way into smart-phones in the early 2000s Vodafone had an interest in promoting phones with a good camera and worked with Image Engineering to develop and establish quality values for their key performance indicators (KPIs).

In 2013 the testing underwent a complete modernization. New quality parameters were added based on the latest technologies and tests were performed under different lighting conditions and for various use cases. At that time Image Engineering did the measurements and provided the results to Vodafone. Vodafone took these results and over the course of a year converted them into a scoring system so that management, sales, and customers were able to understand the quality differences between the devices. The Vodafone Camera eXperience (VCX) was born.

Due to limited resources Image Engineering joint into the score generation procedure in 2016 and a bunch of additions and clarifications were added. At the same time the idea was born to make VCX available to a wider audience and after a first conference in Spring 2017 the non-profit organization VCX-Forum e.V. was founded. The abbreviation VCX is still used but the name behind it change to

Valued Camera eXperience – VCX

Today the organization is member driven and Vodafone and Image Engineering are members among about one dozen other companies including almost all of the big smart-phone manufacturers, chipset vendors, module manufactures and labs. All members are united in their intention to create a quality and performance measure that allows to compare their mobile phone cameras with the ones of others and provide guidance to the customers on which camera to choose. That way the image quality of smart-phone cameras is comparable and will be improved in the future.